Instagram Photo – Workout of the day!

14 Aug

So….if you follow me on instagram, I told you to come to my blog to see what the heck I was doing in the picture! If you just follow my blog, you may have seen the picture on the right hand side of my blog. Well….that exercise is called I-w-I. This exercise is great for developing the lower traps and scapula. It helps to pull your shoulders back….which is so important! My mom always yells at me and tells me to pull my shoulders back! It definitely makes you look taller! This exercise also promotes flexibility and range of motion for shoulders. All of this is so important! My shoulders were so weak when I first started lifting heavy and because of that, I injured my rotator cuff. I was completely cut off from lifting and had to go to physical therapy for 3 months! It was awful! I don’t want that to happen to any of you…so I thought I would share this exercise with you!

First, you want to lay flat on your stomach. Grab 2 pound dumbbells – keep your thumbs up – and arms straight out in front of you. Keep your head down.

Lift your arms up…they wont go up very high…just enough to give you range of motion. Pull them back in a W like position. You are going to have to engage your core and use those back muscles.

Then bring your arms back to the original position

Do this for two sets of 10 reps! You will feel the burn big time! Also, I have noticed that this helps with the back fat right behind my armpit! A lot of women complain about some fat hanging out over their bra or shirt…this is really going to help tone that area of skin! Also, it will make your back and shoulders look super good!

-This exercise and information was given to me by a certified personal trainer..aka the boyfriend! šŸ™‚
-Enjoy! Let me know if there are any questions!
-Live Healthy and God bless! M xoxo

4 Responses to “Instagram Photo – Workout of the day!”

  1. Lori August 19, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    I love this exercise! It really works too! It helped get rid of what I call my “chicken cutlet”! That annoying back fat, that I thought I was stuck with forever…lol! If only there was some magical exercise to get rid of my lose skin…ugh! Oh well, you take the good with the bad! šŸ™‚

    • prettylittleloser22 August 19, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

      I love the “chicken cutlet” name! haha I too wish there was a magical exercise for loose skin! Where do you struggle with loose skin? I have a lot on my arms legs, and hips!

      • Lori August 19, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

        For me, it’s the thighs…ugh! I too have lost a lot of weight, 115 pounds, so it was inevitable. I am pretty self-conscious about it. You would never know that you have any lose skin, from your pics on Instagram and in People. Girl, you look AMAZING!! Looks like you have been fit and trim your whole life!

      • prettylittleloser22 August 19, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

        Wow! Amazing job! I completely understand being self conscious about it…There’s times where I sit down in shorts and think “oh man…everyone is probably staring!” But, I bet that me and you see it WAY more than others do. It took me a while to accept it…and now I look at it as how far I have come! It shows the success we made! It shows our struggles and pain! It shows our victory! Lets make a deal to embrace it! Do you do any weight lifting?? That has helped mine TREMENDOUSLY!

Leave a Reply

